Freese

Blog featuring artwork of Wes Freese

Interiors

leave a comment »

“Table-top Next To Cabinet”, Oil on Linen, 15″ X 20″

These paintings focus on how space is organized and how that might be an extension of interior identity. I intended for them to be an exploration and analysis of places I inhabit to see if the composition of things within them might reveal something.  To do this I envisioned images that might be similar to police crime scene photographs. The “crime” in this instance involved me undergoing an emergency appendectomy, which was the first serious medical issue in my life.  Doctors say they never really know what causes an appendicitis.  Given no proximate cause for my illness, I took up my camera and tried to capture any evidence in my house that would cause my appendix to fail.  I wasn’t literally looking for the cause of my appendicitis in the organization of the furniture in my house, but I did have the idea for a painting project that might display a philosophy of feng shui gone horribly wrong.

..

“Foyer (For My Wake)”, Oil on Linen, 15″ X 20″

I felt the framing of the images was very important.  I wanted images that have a decidedly non-artistic composition. I didn’t want perfectly composed images according to aesthetic sensibilities or principles of design. I wanted the images to appear as if they were taken for a more utilitarian purpose, rather than for art’s sake, in the sense that they might be documenting evidence in my home that might be indicative of a larger manner of living. After capturing the shots (some of which I have not painted yet) I then further abstracted the images by converting them to sepia, sienna and ochre color scales in an attempt to give the images a quality of representing an older photograph.

“Bureau (San Antonio Maria Claret)”, Oil on Linen, 15″ X 20″

These weren’t intended to be photo-realist works and they’re not copies of photographs. Nor are they “hyper-realist” works in the conventional sense. During the process of creating these works, there was a stage that I left the photograph behind. At that point I worked only with the painting and made decisions based on what the paintings required independent of the photo or the actual setting being depicted. I think they’re most similar to William Bailey paintings, in the sense that they minimize the trail of labor that took place during the creation of the paintings.  But unlike Bailey’s paintings that evoke ideas of Platonic order and harmony, these interior paintings hint at tension and dis-ease.  Aside from the subject matter of the paintings, I hoped to create in these paintings what I call “allusive realism”.  This term for me means that the paintings be expressive of human emotion and thought, despite the concerted effort to represent forms in the paintings with a significant level of realistic detail.

“Collection (It’s Over)”, Oil on Linen, 15″ X 20″

Written by Wes Freese

January 30, 2011 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

